Daily routines

Sleep

During the week I usually wake UP at 6.30 a.m. I sometimes lie in bed for five minutes but then I have to get up (= get out of bed and get dressed). Most evenings, I go to bed at about 11.30 p.m. I’m usually very tired, so I go to sleep / fall asleep very quickly. Occasionally though, I can’t get to sleep (= succeed in sleeping). When that happens, I sometimes manage to fall asleep about 3 a.m., then I oversleep (= sleep too long) in the morning. If I have a late night (= go to bed very late; = an early night), I try to have a nap (= a short sleep, e.g. 20-25 minutes) in the afternoon. The weekends are different. On Saturday and Sunday I have a lie-in. (= stay in bed until later, e.g. 8 a.m. or 8.30 a.m.)

Food

In the week I have breakfast at 7.30 a.m., lunch at 1.00 p.m., and dinner around 7 p.m. I also have one or two snacks ( = small amounts of food), e.g. cakes, biscuits or fruit, during the day at work. As I live alone / on my own / by myself (= without other people), I also have to make my own breakfast and dinner (= prepare breakfast and dinner for myself), but during the week I don’t jbother (= make an effort) to cook very much.
I also have to feed (= give food to) my two cats twice a day as well.
Note: With breakfast, lunch or dinner in general, there is no definite article (the).

Keeping clean

In the summer I have a shower in the morning, but in the winter I often have a bath instead (= in place of a shower). Sometimes I have a shave at the same time, or I shave when I have a wash and clean/brush my teeth after breakfast. I wash my hair two or three times a week.
Note: In some contexts, it is more common in English to use have + noun than a single verb, e.g. I’m going to have a wash. [NOT I’m going to wash.]

Work

In the morning I leave home about 8.15 a.m. and get to work (= arrive at work) by 9 a.m. I have a lunch break (= stop work for lunch) from 1-2 p.m., and a couple of short breaks during the day. I leave work around 5.30 p.m. and get home about 6.15 p.m.

Evenings

During the week I usually stay in (= stay at home) and have a rest (= relax and do nothing). But at the weekend I often go out (= leave the house for social reasons, e.g. go to the cinema or disco with friends), but quite often I also have friends for dinner (= invite friends to my house and cook dinner for them), or friends just come round (= visit me at the house) for a chat (infml) (= conversation) or we play cards, e.g. poker or bridge.

Housework

I do the shopping (= buy the food) on Saturday.
Fortunately (= luckily) I have a cleaner (= a person who cleans) and she does most of the housework: she does my washing ( = washes the clothes), the washing-up ( = washes the dishes) and does most of the ironing.