Britain / England / the United Kingdom

These words are different because of their geography:

  • England is a single country. The capital of England is London.
  • Great Britain is an island that contains three countries:

    England, Scotland, and Wales.

  • The United Kingdom is a political unit that includes four countries: England, Scotland, Wales, and Northern Ireland.